The Whitlam Mob

Author(s): Mungo MacCallum


'We were a motley mob, we sans-culottes of Canberra . . . ' In this vastly entertaining book, Mungo MacCallum captures the spirit of a nation-changing time.  He portrays the Whitlam government's key figures - from Gough and Margaret to Lionel Murphy, Bill Hayden and Jim Cairns - as well as 'the other mob' in opposition - Billy McMahon, John Gorton, Malcolm Fraser and many more. The Whitlam Mob addresses some crucial questions:  What was the night of the long prawns?  Who was the playboy of the parliament?  And who was 'the toe-cutter'? This is Mungo at his best: vivid and barbed, nostalgic but always clear-eyed.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Mungo MacCallum has long been one of Australia's most influential and entertaining political journalists, in a career spanning more than four decades. His books include the bestselling Mungo: The Man Who Laughs, Run Johnny Run: The Story of the 2004 Election, Poll Dancing: The Story of the 2007 Election and Punch and Judy: The Double Disillusion Election of 2010.

General Fields

  • : 9781863956796
  • : Schwartz Publishing Pty, Limited
  • : Black Inc.
  • : 0.33
  • : July 2014
  • : 230mm X mm
  • : Australia
  • : July 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Mungo MacCallum
  • : Paperback
  • : 814
  • : 320.994
  • : 240